Our Board of Directors

Control of NPPD and its operations is vested in an 11-member Board of Directors, popularly elected from within NPPD’s chartered territory, including all or parts of 84 of Nebraska’s 93 counties. Board members serve six-year terms, and decisions made by the Board are done by a majority voting process.

Board members serve as stewards of all utility functions, including power supply, distribution operations, budgets, rates, capital improvements, finances, customer services, cyber security, physical security, and regulatory compliance. The Board also preserves the benefits delivered by public power here in Nebraska.

The Board has created and approved several Strategic Directives. These Strategic Directives will guide us through what we need to do today and the days ahead to power a brighter future for Nebraskans for generations to come.

NPPD Board of Directors Subdivision Map
Jerry Chlopek

Jerry Chlopek, Chair

Jerry worked for Cornhusker Public Power District for more than 40 years, retiring in 2009 as the utility’s Operations Manager. A graduate of Genoa High School, Jerry served in the U.S. Marine Corps and the Army Reserve.

Counties Served: Subdivision 9
Term: 2021-2026 | Years Served: 13 (2009)
Phone: 402-564-6442 | Email: jlchlop@nppd.com
3075 39th Avenue | Columbus, NE 68601

Melissa Freelend

Melissa Freelend, First Vice Chair

A fifth generation Nebraskan and Grand Island native, Melissa attended Grand Island Senior High and Central Community College. She worked in early childhood education. Since 2007, Melissa has held a career in media and broadcasting.

Counties Served: Subdivision 3
Term: 2017-2022 | Years Served: 5 (2017)
Phone: 308-380-7864 | Email: msfreel@nppd.com
3113 9th Avenue | Kearney, NE 68845

Ed Shrock

Ed Schrock, Second Vice Chair

Ed served as a Nebraska State Senator for 14 years, during which time he chaired the Natural Resources Committee for 8 years. A graduate of Holdrege High School and Nebraska Wesleyan University, he actively farms with his two sons on the family farm in Phelps County.

Counties Served: Subdivision 6
Term: 2019-2024 | Years Served: 15 (2007)
Phone: 308-995-4665 | Email: ejschro@nppd.com
74274 K Road | Elm Creek, NE 68836

Ken Kunze

Wayne Williams, Secretary

Residing near Central City, Wayne has been in the power industry for more than 40 years with extensive knowledge in large scale enterprise project management. Wayne owns and operates a Nebraska-based business.

Counties Served: Subdivision 7
Term: 2021-2026 | Years Served: 1 (2021)
Phone: 308-940-1071 | Email: wewilli@nppd.com
1814 18th Road | Central City, NE 68826

Fred Christensen

Fred Christensen

A native Nebraskan, Fred is the fourth generation to farm the family land in Burt County. He was a member of the Burt County Public Power District Board for 15 years.

Counties Served: Subdivision 11
Term: 2019-2024 | Years Served: 9 (2013)
Phone: 402-685-6269 | Email: flchris@nppd.com
1740 County Road P | Lyons, NE 68038

Mary Harding

Mary Harding

A seventh generation Nebraskan, Mary graduated from the University of Nebraska Lincoln with a degree in Bilingual Education and completed graduate work at the University of Colorado in Boulder in sociolinguistics. Mary and her husband operate a residential rental property business in Lincoln.

Counties Served: Subdivision 1
Term: 2021-2026 | Years Served: 19 (2003)
Phone: 402-560-0630 | Email: mary4nppd@gmail.com
1107 Happy Hollow Court | Plattsmouth, NE 68048

Bill Hoyt

Bill Hoyt

Bill attended McCook High School, McCook Community College and Fort Hays State University. He is self-employed as a rancher, and was employed in law enforcement for 25 years.

Counties Served: Subdivision 4
Term: 2017-2022 | Years Served: 5 (2017)
Phone: 308-340-7576 | Email: wchoyt@nppd.com
71224 Road 384 | McCook, NE 69001

Bill Johnson

Bill Johnson

Bill spent time in Vietnam as a US Marine. He retired in 2013, after serving as Chief Executive Officer/General Manager of Stanton County Public Power District for 27 years.

Counties Served: Subdivision 10
Term: 2017-2022 | Years Served: 5 (2017)
Phone: 402-649-0524 | Email: wdjohns@nppd.com
57325 838 1/2 Road | Pilger, NE 68768

Charlie Kennedy

Charlie Kennedy

Charlie is a native of Ava, Missouri, but has lived in Nebraska since 1995, relocating from Omaha to Scottsbluff in 2008. Retiring from Blue Cross Blue Shield of Nebraska in 2017, Charlie now works for WellCare.

Counties Served: Subdivision 5
Term: 2019-2024 | Years Served: 3 (2019)
Phone: 308-635-3126 | Email: cckenne@nppd.com
1616 2nd Avenue | Scottsbluff, NE 69361

Gary Thompson

Gary Thompson

An attorney in Beatrice since 1971, Gary graduated from the University of Nebraska-Lincoln and the University of Nebraska-Lincoln Law School.

Counties Served: Subdivision 8
Term: 2017-2022 | Years Served: 29 (1993)
Phone: 402-806-0266 | Email: ggthomp@nppd.com
545 Adams Street | Clatonia, NE 68328

Barry DeKay

Aaron Troester

Aaron received a Bachelor of Science degree in chemistry from Creighton University. Aaron is actively involved in the family farming operation near O'Neill, Nebr., raising irrigated crops.

Counties Served: Subdivision 2
Term: 2021-2026 | Years Served: 1 (2021)
Phone: 402-340-0510 | Email: adtroes@nppd.com
405 E Londonderry Drive | O’Neill, NE 68763

Board Guidelines



  • Harding, Chair
  • Hoyt, 1st Vice Chair
  • Troester, 2nd Vice Chair
  • Schrock
  • Thompson


  • Williams, Chair
  • Johnson, 1st Vice Chair
  • Freelend, 2nd Vice Chair
  • Kennedy
  • Christensen


  • Johnson, Chair
  • Freelend, 1st Vice Chair
  • Hoyt, 2nd Vice Chair


  • Chlopek, Chair
  • Freelend, 1st Vice Chair
  • Schrock, 2nd Vice Chair
  • Williams


  • Thompson, Chair
  • Williams, 1st Vice Chair
  • Troester, 2nd Vice Chair
  • Harding


  • Freelend, Chair
  • Hoyt, 1st Vice Chair
  • Christensen, 2nd Vice Chair
  • Schrock
  • Johnson

Strategic Directives