York’s Ken Kunze elected NPPD Board chairman for 2016

January 14, 2016
Ken Kunze

Ken Kunze

Columbus, Neb. – The Nebraska Public Power District Board of Directors Thursday elected Ken Kunze of York as its chairman for 2016. Also elected were Larry Linstrom of North Platte as first vice chairman, Tom Hoff of Broken Bow as second vice chairman, and Jerry Chlopek of Columbus as secretary.

Kunze began his first term of office on the NPPD Board of Directors in 2009 and was re-elected to a second term that began in 2015. Previously, Kunze served as first vice chairman in 2014 and 2015, and was the nuclear committee chairman during 2013 and 2014.

“Public power is an essential ingredient to the economic strength of Nebraska,” said Kunze. “I am committed to working with our customers and other stakeholders to keep public power strong in Nebraska.  At different times, we will individually, and sometimes collectively, have to ‘step up to the plate’ to make it work for our mutual benefit.”

A graduate of the University of Nebraska-Kearney, Kunze has owned a real estate company in York for more than 36 years. He served as York’s mayor from 1988 to 1996 and as president of the Nebraska League of Municipalities in 1995. Kunze was a board member of the Nebraska Power Review Board from 2000 to 2008. He represents Subdivision 7, which consists of York, Polk, Nance, Merrick, Hamilton, Adams and Clay counties.

The Board of Directors also elected NPPD Vice President and Chief Financial Officer Traci Bender as treasurer, re-appointed Donna Starzec assistant treasurer and Christine Pillen deputy assistant treasurer. Jan Modelski was re-appointed as assistant secretary and Sandra Keefover as deputy assistant secretary. All are from Columbus.


Editor’s Note: Photos of the Board members are downloadable for the media on NPPD’s website at https://www.nppd.com/about-us/board-of-directors/.

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInEmail this to someonePrint this page