Power Drive teams battle weather during Hastings competition

April 27, 2015

Hastings, Neb. – Student drivers in last Saturday’s Power Drive endurance rally faced competition not only from participating schools, but the weather proved to be a challenge with a damp track combined with cold and windy conditions.

Four different schools captured top honors in the four competition classes during the Hastings Power Drive rally on a one-mile plus course on the roadways at the Motorsports Park at Hastings. Next up will be this Saturday’s Power Drive Championships at Werner Park in LaVista.

Wayne High School won the Advanced Class by covering 28 laps in the 60-minute endurance rally, nipping Bancroft-Rosalie by 27 seconds. A second team from Bancroft-Rosalie finished third with 27 laps completed. In the Standard Class, Syracuse finished first by covering 27 laps with Friend taking second, also covering 27 laps, with Elkhorn taking third with 25 laps.

In the Novice Class, Chase County took top honors with 17 laps completed followed by a second team from Chase County in second completing 10 ¼ laps, followed by Stanton in third with 10 laps completed. In a highly competitive Exhibition Class, Elkhorn and Wayne battled for 60 minutes with both schools completing 28 laps, with Elkhorn edging Wayne for the top spot by 12 seconds. Harvard finished third completing 20 laps.

Werner Park in La Vista will be the site of the 2015 Power Drive Championship. Saturday’s schedule includes check-in and car inspections at 7 a.m. and braking- maneuverability testing at 8 a.m. The first heat of competition is slated to begin at 10 a.m. followed by a second heat at 11:15 and a third at 12:30 p.m. Awards presentation will be at 2 p.m.

In Power Drive, teams compete in a series of endurance rallies, using light electric vehicles. The annual competition is co-sponsored by the Omaha Public Power District and the Nebraska Public Power District. Power Drive gives high school students hands-on experience building a safe, energy-efficient electric vehicle. Teams have designed and built electric-powered vehicles during the school year.

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInEmail this to someonePrint this page