First week of Power Drive competition crowns four schools with top honors

March 30, 2015

Columbus, Neb. – The 2015 Power Drive competition started off a five-race series Saturday morning when schools competed in the Cuming County Open at the Cuming County Fairgrounds in West Point.

The first week of competition saw champions crowned in four different classes.

In the Standard Class, Cedar Rapids, Iowa, Kennedy High School took top honors by completing 65 laps in the 90-minute endurance race. A second team from Kennedy finished as runner-up, also completing 65 laps, and third went to Elkhorn High School with 58 laps.

Wayne High School won the Advanced Class by completing 80 laps, with Elkhorn High School taking second with 77 laps completed, edging out Bancroft-Rosalie by approximately 45 seconds.

Also topping the Exhibition Class was Wayne High School with 74 laps completed with Elkhorn High School in second with 50 laps. In the Novice Class, Syracuse High School took top honors by competing 71 laps.

Next up in the competition, following a weekend off due to the Easter holiday, will be Saturday, April 11 with the Big Red Invitational on the East Campus at the University of Nebraska in Lincoln. The event will be staged on the test track at the Tractor Test Laboratory. Competition begins at 11:30 a.m.

In Power Drive, teams compete in a series of endurance rallies, using light electric vehicles. The annual competition is co-sponsored by the Omaha Public Power District and the Nebraska Public Power District. The series will culminate at Werner Park in LaVista where the Power Drive Championships will be held Saturday, May 2.

Power Drive gives high school students hands-on experience building a safe, energy-efficient electric vehicle. Teams have designed and built electric-powered vehicles during the school year.

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInEmail this to someonePrint this page