NPPD Board Officers Elected

January 9, 2014

NPPD Board of Directors

Columbus, Neb. – The Nebraska Public Power District Board of Directors Thursday elected Ed Schrock of rural Holdrege as its chairman for 2014. Also elected were Ken Kunze of York as first vice-chairman, Larry Linstrom of North Platte as second vice-chairman, and Jerry Chlopek of Columbus as secretary.

Schrock began his first term of office on the NPPD Board of Directors in 2007. During his tenure on the NPPD Board, Schrock was selected as second vice chairman in 2012 and first vice chairman in 2013.

Prior to his election to the NPPD Board, Schrock served as a Nebraska state senator for 14 years. A graduate of Holdrege High School and Nebraska Wesleyan University, Schrock farms with his sons on the family farm in Phelps County. He is a past president of the Nebraska Corn Growers Association and a past member of the Nebraska Natural Resources Commission. Schrock is a member of the Holdrege Chamber of Commerce and participates in numerous farm organizations.

Schrock represents Subdivision 6, which originally consisted of Chase, Dundy, Hayes, Hitchcock, Frontier, Red Willow, Gosper, Furnas, Phelps, Harlan, Kearney, Franklin and Adams counties in south central Nebraska. He was re-elected to a second term in 2012, again representing Subdivision 6, which subsequently went through realignment and as of Jan. 1, 2013, comprises Dawson, Gosper, Phelps, Kearney, Furnas, Harlan, Franklin and Webster counties.

The NPPD Board of Directors also elected Vice President and Chief Financial Officer Traci Bender as treasurer, re-appointed Donna Starzec as assistant treasurer and Christine Pillen as deputy assistant treasurer. Jan Modelski was re-appointed as assistant secretary and Sandra Keefover as deputy assistant secretary. All are from Columbus.

Editor’s Note: Photos of the Board members are downloadable for the media on NPPD’s website at

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInEmail this to someonePrint this page