Bancroft-Rosalie, Wayne, Winside top Power Drive event; championship finals set for Saturday at Werner Park

April 28, 2014

Columbus, Neb. –  Bancroft-Rosalie High School captured two first place trophies with Wayne and Winside taking one each at Saturday’s Cuming County Open Power Drive in West Point. It was the last endurance rally before this weekend’s championship finals.

The championship final of the Power Drive competition will be staged Saturday at Werner Park in La Vista. The first of three, 60-minute heats of competition will begin at 10 a.m. with an awards ceremony after the conclusion of the races. This event culminates five weeks of endurance rally competition by approximately 25 high school teams from Nebraska, Iowa, and South Dakota.

Saturday’s Cuming County Open required the student-built vehicles to compete in an endurance rally that covered 90 minutes, instead of the standard 60 minutes. Bancroft-Rosalie covered 76 laps during that time period to take first in the Standard Class, followed by Syracuse in second with 73, and Cedar Rapids (IA) Kennedy third with 68 laps completed.

In the Advanced Class competition, Bancroft-Rosalie took the crown with 84 laps followed in second place by Elkhorn with 82 ¾ laps. Wayne was third with 82. Winside won the Novice Class covering 59 laps, and Stanton took second with 56 laps completed.

Wayne High School won the Exhibition Class with 84 laps covered and Manson (IA) Northwest Webster was second with 46 laps.

Saturday’s finals will determine an overall winner by using a combination of the competitive endurance rally, design engineering, and documentation supplied by each competing school. Points will be awarded in each category of Standard, Advanced and Exhibition, and combined to tally an overall final score.

Power Drive is sponsored by the Nebraska Public Power District and the Omaha Public Power District.

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInEmail this to someonePrint this page