Nebraska Future Business Leaders of America recognize Cooper Nuclear Station as “Business of the Year”

April 3, 2012

Columbus, Neb. – The Nebraska Future Business Leaders of America announced Cooper Nuclear Station (CNS) as the ”Business of the Year” during the opening ceremonies of their state leadership conference in Omaha, March 29.

“The Business of the Year award recognizes successful Nebraska businesses that are contributing members of their communities and support the local school districts,” stated Beverly Newton, FBLA state adviser. “Nominated by local FBLA chapters, award winning businesses must help sustain Nebraska economically, as well as give back to their local communities.”

CNS was nominated for the award by the Auburn High School FBLA chapter, which had selected Cooper as its business of the year during the 2011-2012 school year due to the nuclear power plant’s significance to the regional economy.

“Community involvement is something we take to heart at Cooper,” commented Brian O’Grady, vice president and chief nuclear officer for CNS. “We have more than 700 employees, all of whom live in the local area.”

The award was accepted on behalf of CNS by Drew Niehaus, nuclear communications coordinator. In addition to the station’s award, Niehaus was named the Nebraska “Business Person of the Year” during a separate, FBLA ceremony March 31.

“More than 5,000 students belong to a Nebraska FBLA chapter,” said NPPD President and CEO Pat Pope. “As future business leaders themselves, these students understand a company’s responsibility to its local communities. It is an honor to all of NPPD for CNS to be named ‘Business of the Year.’“

Cooper Nuclear Station is located three miles southeast of Brownville, Neb., near the Missouri River. It is owned and operated by the Nebraska Public Power District, with headquarters in Columbus, Neb.

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInEmail this to someonePrint this page