Kearney’s Larsen to continue to lead NPPD Board in 2013

January 10, 2013

Ronald Larsen, Chairman

Columbus, Neb. – The Nebraska Public Power District Board of Directors Thursday re-elected Ron Larsen of Kearney as its chairman for 2013. Also elected were Edward Schrock of Elm Creek as first vice-chairman, Gary Thompson of Beatrice as second vice-chairman, and Jerry Chlopek of Columbus as secretary.

Larsen began his first term on the NPPD Board of Directors in 2005, representing Buffalo and Kearney counties that comprise Subdivision 3, and was re-elected to a second term in 2011. Previously, he served as the Board’s second vice-chairman in 2009, first vice-chairman in 2010 and 2011, and chairman in 2012.

A native of Kearney and a local businessman, Larsen is a graduate of Kearney High School and the University of Nebraska at Kearney. A former mayor of Kearney who served four years, he also served on the city council for 16 years, the Kearney Area Chamber of Commerce, and the UNK Advisory Council.

He has also served on the boards of Good Samaritan Hospital, Buffalo County Economic Development Council, the Great Platte River Archway, the Kearney YMCA, and Sentinel Health of Kearney.

The Board of Directors also elected Vice President and Chief Financial Officer Traci Bender as treasurer, re-appointed Donna Starzec as assistant treasurer, and Christine Pillen as deputy assistant treasurer. Jan Modelski was re-appointed as assistant secretary and Sandra Keefover as deputy assistant secretary. All are from Columbus.

Note: Photos of the Board members are downloadable for the media on NPPD’s website at

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInEmail this to someonePrint this page